Ratification of the Paris agreement by the French Parliament

Statement of the Deputy Spokesperson of the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development.

9 June 2016

Following the National Assembly on May 17, the Senate adopted, on June 9, the bill on the ratification of the Paris Climate Agreement, approved on December 12, 2015, by 195 countries.

France, which holds the presidency of COP21, will therefore be the second EU country to ratify it. We hope that the EU and all our partners will be able to swiftly follow suit.

The Paris Climate Agreement was signed on April 22 in New York, at the UN headquarters. It will enter into force once 55 countries accounting for 55% of global greenhouse gas emissions have ratified it.

Last modified on 22/06/2016

top of the page