Nobel Prize 2014: Two French awarded

Communiqués by the Presidency of the Republic

Nobel Prize for Literature

Communiqué issued by the Presidency of the Republic
Paris, October 9, 2014

President Hollande extends his warmest congratulations to Patrick Modiano who has just received the Nobel Prize for Literature. This award recognizes a large body of work that explores the subtleties of memory and the complexity of identity.

Since the publication of “La Place de l’Étoile” in 1968, he has won a number of prizes and awards, notably including the Prix Goncourt for his novel “Missing Person” (“Rue des boutiques obscures”) in 1978. He takes his readers right into the traumas of the dark days of the Occupation. And he seeks to understand how the events lead individuals to lose as well as find themselves.

President Hollande pays tribute to his publishing house, Gallimard, which has been working with him since the publication of his first book.

Patrick Modiano has also contributed to several films inspired by his novels, including in particular Louis Malle’s “Lacombe Lucien.”

The Republic is proud that one of our greatest writers has been internationally recognized through this Nobel Prize. Patrick Modiano is the 15th French citizen to win this important award, confirming the major influence exerted by our literature.

Nobel Prize in Economics

Communiqué issued by the Presidency of the Republic
Paris, October 13, 2014

The President extends his warmest congratulations to Jean Tirole. He is a source of pride for France.

The Nobel Prize in Economics which has just been awarded to him is in recognition of his internationally celebrated work on the financial crisis and regulation in network industries and the banking system.

Jean Tirole, a member of the Conseil d’analyse économique [Economic Analysis Council], is President of the Toulouse School of Economics, whose influence is borne out by this distinction.

Jean Tirole is the third Frenchman to receive the Nobel Prize in Economics, after Gérard Debreu in 1983 and Maurice Allais in 1988, and it is the second time this year that a Frenchman has received a Nobel prize, with Patrick Modiano being awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature last Friday.

This Nobel prize highlights the quality of research in our country./.

Last modified on 30/10/2014

top of the page