17 foreigners, NRIs among 104 Padma awardees

17 people from other countries, including a few of Indian origin, are among 104 people chosen for the Padma awards.

Karim Al Hussiani Aga Khan of France has been conferred with the Padma Vibhushan, India’s second highest civilian award.

Manjul Bhargava, David Frawley, Bill Gates and Melinda Gates - all from the US - and Saichiro Misumi from Japan will receive the Padma Bhushan.

Jean-Claude Carriere and Jacques Blamont (France), Huang Baosheng (China), Nandrajan ’Raj’ Chetty, George L. Hart, Tripti Mukherjee, Dattatreyudu Nori, Raghu Rama Pillarisetti (all from the US), Jagat Guru Amrta Suryananda Maha Raja (Portugal), Saumitra Rawat (Britain) and Annette Schmiedchen (Germany) were named for the Padma Shri.

Professeur Jacques Blamont
Prof. Jacques Blamont & Dr. Vikram Sarabhai, 1964

Professeur Jacques Emile Blamont, Advisor to the President of the French National Space Agency (Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales), was awarded the Padma Shri for the year 2015 for his exceptional contribution to the kick-start pf the Indian space programme in the 1960s and 1970s.

The Padma Shri badge will be given to him personnally in New Delhi by the President of India.

Last modified on 16/04/2015

top of the page